• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 922 other followers

  • Previous Posts

  • Categories

Changing The Way We Eat

Our family has changed the way we eat.  For the past month and a half we have been doing a candida free cleanse.  This wasn’t my idea, nor was I even all that excited about it when we first started discussing it.  It was my wife’s idea, and she asked me if I would do it with her so that it would be easier for the meal planning as well as helping to eliminate most temptations for her to eat something that isn’t “on the list.”  I wasn’t against doing it, I just wasn’t thrilled about it.  My approach was, “if you’ll prepare the food, I’ll eat it.  There has to be stuff in the fridge for me to grab whenever I get the munchies and need something to hold me over until the next meal.”

So, I agreed.  I agreed for one simple reason.  I love my wife.

Now, I will admit to you, on the very first day we started this, I freaked out.  I was at work and lunch time was closing in as I began to realize my wife was at work and we didn’t really have anything that was “on the list” at home for me to eat.  So I began texting her and our friend, Eric, about what I could possible do for lunch.  We are sharing our home with Eric and Andrea for a time, but that’s a whole other story.

So, back to freaking out.

I wasn’t getting enough of a response from either of them to satisfy my panic until Eric finally chimed in with, “I can go to the store to pick up a few items and throw a salad together for you, then we can figure other things out for the days you’ll be at work and won’t have time to come home and make something.”  This was enough to calm my panic for the day.  Everyone survived and I didn’t starve like I thought I would.  In the coming days, several trips were made to several grocery stores as we began to explore the many options of what we could and could not eat during this time.

Now, one thing you need to understand is that I am not much of a cook.  To word it that way is even giving me more credit than I deserve when it comes to cooking.  I typically don’t cook.  Especially stuff that doesn’t have a recipe for me to follow.  Suffice it to say that over the past month and a half, I have not cooked one single meal.  To be as honest as possible, we have done this whole candida thing with very little effort on my part.  But, would you like to know what’s been so crazy about it all?  I have lost 20 lbs.  TWENTY POUNDS!

That’s right, 20 lbs. lost without doing anything.  I haven’t cooked, I haven’t exercised, I haven’t jogged.  The truth is, I have been simply eating, and eating very well!  Most days I get a second helping of whatever we’re having because the food that has been prepared is simply that amazing.  So picture me stuffing my face with a second helping of dinner and waking up the next day only to find out that I have lost another pound.  This is brilliant.  BRILLIANT, I tell you!

I share all of that with you in order to share Christ with you.  Jesus revealing Himself to us in our everyday lives and in some of the simplest ways is one overflow of His life we have been sharing with the saints in the Gainesville church.  Here is how Christ revealed Himself to me through this candida free cleanse.

Christ invites us to join in His life, not for our own purpose or desires, but for His purpose and His desire, much like my wife invited me to join her in this candida free cleanse.  She has a purpose in doing this and it has nothing to do with my purposes or desires.  It’s about her and what she hopes to accomplish.  With Christ, since He is all, it is about Him, His glory, His purpose, what He desires to bring about.

And so, we agree to join Him in His life, often times simply because we love Him.  We love Him for no other reason than that He loves us first.  His love and His life are abundant and we simply respond to His life and love by joining Him.

As we join Him, He has been and is at work, preparing and executing His desire to accomplish His purpose in everything.  And really, this requires no effort on our part.  We have joined Him in what He is doing and His life is now living in and through us, accomplishing His desire and purpose.  Because we are no longer living for ourselves, in fact, we have been crucified with Christ and the life we now live is Christ’s life in us and through us, our desires, agendas and purposes are no longer being driven or pushed forward.  In fact, they die off and His desire and purpose is where we find our true desire and purpose.  In His life is where we find our true life.  Just as I have done nothing to bring about this candida cleanse or cook the food, but have simply sat down to feast every day, we do nothing to bring about Christ’s desire or purpose.  He does it all.  It is His life living in and through us, all He asks us to do is to partake of it, to sit at His table and feast every day upon Him.

The beauty that comes out of us joining His life, I’m sure, is more evident to Him than it is to us, but still we experience it.  I didn’t set out to lose weight, I didn’t have some big exercise routine in mind, nor have I started one, yet.  In this candida free cleanse, I am experiencing the joy of losing twenty pounds, with no effort of my own, except sitting down to eat.

In Christ, we are experiencing His life, love and joy as His Body, Bride and Family as we are being built together in the community of believers.  In His life and love, we learn that what we become a part of in Him is ultimately for our good as well.  What He does, He does perfectly and it overflows into the life of every believer that has been called according to His purpose.  That is how abundant His life is.  We lose our lives, our agendas, our desires, our plans and we gain His life, His purpose, His desire and it is so enjoyable, so wonderful that we can do nothing, but consider it all joy.  I am confident at this point in our journey, we have only scratched the surface of all He is.  Here’s to twenty pounds (and counting)!

What a Christ!

10 Responses

  1. First of all, congrats on the 20 lbs!

    Amen bro. That is so true. We come to the Lord with all this extra weight that comes from eating something other than Him…it even tastes good! So we leave the old table to come to the new, where Christ is the Host and we are His guests. But this dinner banquet isn’t just a quick meal. He is inviting us to live in His house. And in this house (the church) we may come to His table at any time to feast upon His food.

    There is a time when our change of diet is hard and difficult. But we have brothers and sisters to bring us food–healthy food–when we can’t seem to get it ourselves. And then, over time, we begin to lose the weight of religion and begin to be filled with the health of Christ!

    Thanks for writing bro.

    Like

    • Michael,

      Thanks for expounding! I love the thought of leaving one table and coming to a new table, and being filled with the health of Christ as we lose the weight of religion. Great insights!

      Like

  2. Wow, what a great blog! It is so evident in looking at what you are going through with the diet.
    Last week at Martha Road Church, the worship leader told of a about a father and his daughter that were wrestling for the fun of it. The daughter kept trying to get the best of her dad but of course couldn’t. The father finally asked the daughter, “Who is stronger, me or you?” She replied, “You are, Daddy.” The father said, “So why do you keep on struggling to beat me?” Once the daughter heard that, she relaxed in her Dad’s arms and let him hold her. This is such a neat picture of the way we are as well. We keep struggling to beat our Heavenly Father in the wrestling of everyday things, but He is stronger and wiser. We just need to relax and let Him hold us!

    Love how everyday things reveal Jesus to us more and more!!!!

    Like

    • Yes, Christ reveals Himself to us in everything. When things are in their right perspective, with Jesus at the center of everything, He becomes so much more visible. We are in Christ and He is in us. That begs the question, “How could we not see Him?”

      Like

  3. Beautiful picture of Christ!!!

    Like

  4. Blah, blah, blah, great blog post. Blah, blah, blah, you lost 20 pounds. Blah, blah, blah, Christ is amazing.

    (It’s about time you blogged again, brother. I was beginning to worry.) 😉

    Like

  5. What’s candida?

    Like

Leave a Reply

