• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 922 other subscribers
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Previous Posts

  • Categories

A Bit of Speculation

This past weekend my wife and I, along with a couple of other friends visited the brothers and sisters of the church in Gainesville, Florida. Let me just say it was a great weekend!

R.C. and I also had the privilege of going to a brothers’ meeting while we were there.  What follows is a bit of speculation I shared with the group on Christ as the center of all things.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being. In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.” – John 1:1-4 NASB

We know from John that everything was created through Jesus.  This means that somewhere in eternity past Jesus spoke and creation was set in motion.  Each planet, moon, star, solar system, galaxy was brought about through the Almighty Living Word of God, Jesus Christ.

Now, here in the year 2010, we have scientific knowledge that everything in the universe is expanding or moving out from where it once was.  It is not that each piece of matter (planets, stars, galaxies, etc.) are moving in ways so as to avoid one another, but each is moving out or expanding as if to have a specific place or point of origin.

So, what if…?

What if we could look far enough, close enough, to see that specific place or point.  What would be there?  Or better yet, Who would be there?

What if Jesus is truly there at the center of it all?

What if we could converse with the planets, the moons, suns, stars, galaxies, and objects in the universe?  What would they say?  What would their stories be?

Imagine.

We might ask, “Where are you going? Where did you come from?”

And the response would be…”I am going that way (as it points in the same direction it is heading) and I came from that way (pointing behind it in the direction from whence it came).

We would say, “What is out there where you are going?”

They would respond, “I don’t know, but I can tell you about where I’ve been and where I came from.”

We reply, “Really? Tell us.”

They would say, “I have seen many things and traveled far from where my journey began. I can tell you of many sights and wonders, but they would all pale in comparison to my place of origin, to my Maker, where I began.  For you see, I began through Jesus.  He fashioned me and formed me and placed me here on this path that I travel.  No matter how far I go, or what I see, nothing compares to Him. And He is at the center of it all.  He set each of us in motion, sent us out on our journeys to tell of Him, to point towards Him, to testify of Him.”

What if…?

“The heavens are telling of the glory of God; and their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.” – Psalm 19:1 (NASB)

“For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse.” – Romans 1:19-20 (NASB)

2 Responses

  1. and He holds it all together – so cool

    Like

Leave a comment